Travel Haze for Dayz

We were told the plane ride was going to be long, the longest one I’ve ever taken. But I’m used to travel. I’ve never gotten jet lag before. I’ll be fine, I thought.

A full 24 hours later (counting the 8-hour time difference in Moscow) without sleep and I’m passed out on the airport floor. No shame. My body literally couldn’t take it anymore, as much as I tried. It was 2:30 p.m. Moscow time, but since it was only 6:30 a.m. EST I had successfully pulled an all-nighter. I swore I wouldn’t do another one of these after I graduated. Whoops!

I knew it was the start to a surreal day when we board the plane, everything is in Russian and we experience sunset and sunrise within a 4-hour time window. Yup, that’s what happens when your flight pattern crosses Greenland.

Can't remember if this is sunrise or sunset...

Can’t remember if this is sunrise or sunset…

I mean, what’s real anymore when sunset is sunrise, afternoon is morning and breakfast is dinner?

Being disoriented, tired and unable to read any of the signs because is Cyrillic made our fellowship time more real. With an 8-hour layover, we decided to take a little adventure into the city. “We’re going on an adventure!” exclaimed Brandon, quoting Bilbo Baggins.

We toured the city on foot, got turned away from a Burger King and ate at an Italian restaurant attempting to order in Russian.

Nathan and I in front of a Moscow Cathedral.

Nathan and I in front of a Moscow Cathedral.

An example of the rich architecture that floods the streets of Moscow.

An example of the rich architecture that floods the streets of Moscow.

By the time we boarded the train back, we were trying to practice our Russian together. “Pazhalsta?” “PAZHALSTA!” The all-purpose word that means “Please” “You’re Welcome” “I’m Sorry” and “Excuse Me”. We just kept shouting it at each other and laughing our faces off. I would blame it on the sleep deprivation but we’re still laughing about it 36 hours later.

By the time we finally got to Orenburg, we met our host family and some of the other church members. Tired and worn, we greeted the people we will be working with for the next 2 weeks. A muffled “Privet” is about all we could muster.

Yet despite all the struggles and laughter and lack of sleep, it was the very uncomfortable situation that brought the foundation to our new relationships. I’ll take the two-day daze for a two-week fun-filled adventure!

Our team hanging out in the airport...before all the flights!

Our team hanging out in the airport…before all the flights!

Leave a comment